About Ayurveda

Ayurveda is an ancient science, grounded in the Vedic scriptures, dating back to 3000 BC.  It literally means “life knowledge” and is
considered to be yoga’s sister science.

Ayurveda teaches us that we are all made up of the same dynamic elements that compose the universe: Air, Water, Ether, Earth and Fire.  These elements are divided into three fundamental concepts or doshas:

1. Vata (air + ether)

2. Pitta (fire + water)

3. Kapha (earth + water)

At conception our unique Prakruti, or “first creation” is determined.  This is our unchanging constitution usually composed of one predominant dosha, and a secondary dosha (e.g. Pitta-Kapha).  Very rarely, an individual will be born with an evenly proportioned Vata-Pitta-Kapha balance.

Throughout life there is a constant, and often turbulent, interaction between our internal nature and our external environment creating a fluctuation, or imbalance, to our doshic composition, otherwise known as Vikruti.

The tri-dosha governs the creation, maintenance and destruction of bodily tissues and the elimination of waste products.  It is also responsible for psychological phenomena, including such emotions as fear, anger and greed; and for the highest order of human emotions such as understanding, compassion and love.

When an individual is able to maintain a state that is as close to their natural constitution as possible, it is believed that they will be living to their highest potential, in terms of health and overall happiness.  When imbalances occur and are sustained for prolonged periods of time they become susceptible to illnesses and disease.

Ayurveda is a system of self-healing, which stems from self-knowledge.  A fundamental step to achieving one’s potential is to understand their natural constitution, their current imbalances, and then to work with love and care towards balance.